Skip to main content
Israel NewsLatest News

Dr. Fauci Bags $1M Israeli Honor For ‘Courageously Defending Science’ During The Pandemic

By 02/17/2021 4:30 PMNo CommentsBy YidInfo Staff

The United States’ top infectious disease specialist, Dr. Anthony Fauci, has been awarded a $1 million prize from an Israeli foundation for “courageously defending science in the face of uninformed opposition during the challenging COVID crisis.”

Crediting Fauci for “speaking truth to power in a highly charged political environment”, the chief medical advisor, won one of the three Dan David Prizes- which are Israeli awards that each grant $1 million to recipients. The international awards are given in the categories Past, Present, and Future, with Fauci winning the Present award, given for “achievements that shape and enrich society today.” The Dan David Prize laureates donate 10% of their prize money to postgraduate students in their respective fields.

Source: The Arkansas Democratic Gazette

The prize is awarded by the Dan David Foundation, which was founded by the late Romanian-Israeli philanthropist of the same name. “The Dan David Prize recognizes and encourages innovative and interdisciplinary research that cuts across traditional boundaries and paradigms,” the official website for the award says. “It aims to promote scientific, technological and humanistic achievements that advance and improve our lives and our knowledge of the world.”

Commending his work in the COVID-19 arena, the Dan David Foundation said on its site, “In addition to traditional vaccine methods, he and his team recognized the value of novel vaccine approaches, such as mRNA vaccines, and quickly moved them into clinical development. Several of these vaccines have gained approval and are now being widely distributed to inoculate millions of people worldwide against the coronavirus.”

Source: YouTube

The foundation also noted Fauci’s work during the AIDS crisis, commending “his exceptional contribution to HIV research” in the 1980s and his time as the “architect of the U.S. President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.”

Fauci was the only individual winner, with the other category awards going to three winners each. Professors Alison Bashford, Katharine Park, and Keith Wailoo were honored in the Past category. Professor Zelig Eshhar, Dr. Carl June, and Dr. Steven Rosenberg won the Future award. Past winners include former US Vice President Al Gore, former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, cellist Yo-Yo Ma, and author Margaret Atwood.



By providing your phone number, you will receive text message updates from Yid-Info. You can opt out at any time by responding STOP.


Author @aronfraiman

More posts by @aronfraiman

Leave a Reply