Skip to main content

Among a slew of new features updated this past week, WhatsApp has upped its group calling game by allowing the host of the call to individually mute a participant in case they forget.

Saving the pain of a lot of ambient noise as well as an echo if two participants are in the same room, WhatsApp has added a new level of control that’s a great solution to chaotic meetings that involve up to a maximum of eight people on video calls — or up to 32 on voice calls.

Source: The Verge (WhatsApp)

Head of WhatsApp Will Cathcart announced the new feature on Twitter, saying, “Some new features for group calls on @WhatsApp: You can now mute or message specific people on a call (great if someone forgets to mute themselves!), and we’ve added a helpful indicator so you can more easily see when more people join large calls.”

Among the other new features,  WhatsApp now lets you message specific people while on a group call, and is also rolling out a new banner that will alert you when someone new has joined a call after it already started.

What’s more is that WhatsApp finally rolled out the ability for Android users to transfer their chat histories to the iPhone after the company initially started letting users transfer their conversation data in the opposite direction. 

Furthermore, you can now choose which contacts can see your profile photo, about, and last seen status that shows when you were last active on the platform. This could help keep your profile private from professional contacts, or anyone who you don’t want to have access to this information 24 / 7.

JOIN US ON WHAT'SAPP, TO GET INSTANT STATUS UPDATES AND BE IN THE KNOW.

CLICK HERE

Rhea Sovani

Author Rhea Sovani

More posts by Rhea Sovani

Leave a Reply