We have all, at some point, sent messages that weren’t supposed to be sent to a person, and immediately regretted it…or taken some time to regret it. Although regretting it later could not be undone before- WhatsApp announced Monday that users can delete messages a little over two days from the time it was sent.
Instead of the earlier hour limit to delete the message, WhatsApp has stretched the limit to two days. The company announced the change in a Tweet that read, “Rethinking your message? Now you’ll have a little over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send.”
To give you the exact time frame, a comment by trustworthy WhatsApp leaker WABetaInfo suggests that the exact limit will be two days and 12 hours.
To start using the new feature right now, open up the WhatsApp group or individual chat where you sent the message(s). Make sure to tap and hold the content you want to get rid of, click “Delete,” and then select either “Delete for everyone” or “Delete for me.”
But there’s a small catch here. Before you get deleting your messages, all recipients must be updated to the most recent version of WhatsApp in order for this to actually work, and you won’t actually receive a notification if the message didn’t delete.